NEWLY-CROWNED division ‘A’ champions Scalby fell to a shock defeat at home to Wykeham in the Scarborough Beckett League – a result which keeps alive Wykeham’s slim hopes of nicking the runners-up spot on Saturday.

Wykeham totalled 216, James Bryant (46), Dave Pearson (45) and Ben Metcalfe (46) scoring the bulk of their runs, with Peter Beard claiming 3-56.

Replying, Scalby were dismissed for 170 by Dave Pearson (5-63) and Ian Spence (3-45), with David Holborn (52) and Paul Hesp (28) their leading scorers.

Nawton Grange leapfrogged Grindale into second place by default.

Grange’s opponents, bottom team Sewerby II, again could not raise a team so they collected 20 points. Grindale, despite their bid for honours, could also not get a side out so conceded their match against Settrington.

This weekend’s last games of the season see Grange go to Wold Newton, Grindale visit Sewerby II – assuming they get a team out – and Wykeham host Cloughton.

Wold Newton and Cloughton both need points to avoid relegation alongside Sewerby – and both won on Saturday.

Newton beat Sherburn, another side in danger, by 25 runs in a low-scoring game.

Newton were dismissed for 121 by Stu Pickard (3-23) and Michael Holtby (3-23), Andrew Moore making 32, but they then bowled out their visitors for 96, Oliver West taking 5-27 and Charles Gray 4-13.

Cloughton had a five-wicket win over Brompton. Chris Malthouse (47) and Paul Virr (38) led the victorious reply after Pete Milner (4-52) and Phil Chambers (3-33) had bowled Brompton out for 174-8, of which Josh Rewcroft made 45 and Karl Theobold 34.

Mulgrave add the cup to title win MULGRAVE completed a division ‘B’ double by adding that tier’s Cayley Cup to their league success.

They beat Forge Valley II by 68 runs in the 20-over final at Flixton, with Chris Clarkson (67), Kieran Noble (55) and Andrew Thompson (4-36) the leading contributors.

They had also seen off Valley in the league 24 hours earlier, with Nick Gibson (109) and Craig Thompson (66) this time shining as they rattled up 246-4. Gary Gibson made 52 in Valley’s all out reply of 138.

Cayton II remain in the box seat for the runners-up berth after hammering Scarborough II.

Jes Riley (78), David Walker (67) and P Pennock (37) scored well in their 278-7, David Snowball taking 5-51, before Boro were skittled for 49, James Ward claiming 3-15 and Kieran Glave 3-12.

Third-placed Fylingdales lost ground as their match at Thornton Dale was abandoned due to rain – the result also meaning Thornton can no longer finish second.

Barry Heyes scored 47, Duncan Steele 35 and Steve Husband 36 not out as Fylingdales totalled 190-6 after being put in by the 10-man hosts, Lee Oliver taking 4-35.

Thornton were on 92-5 - Andrew Rudd making 32 while Martin Cairns took 3-40 - when the rain arrived. Fylingdales hung around in the vain hope play might resume, but the call-off came at 7.12pm.

Ganton bolstered their bid to avoid the drop with a five-wicket win over Staxton II, who were restricted to 154-7 by John Bannister (3-25), despite Jonathan Aldcroft’s 65, Maurice Galway’s 39 and Mick Witty’s unbeaten 27.

Alistar Limb hit 90 not out and Richard Bannister 35 not out to take Ganton to the finishing line, Chris Brown claiming 3-31.

Ryedale are relegated after a 10-wicket defeat at Bridlington II, opener Greg Miller (46no) and Harry Burnhill (64no) seeing Brid home without any hiccups after the visitors were bowled out for 118, of which Rob Featherstone hit 30.

Scalby II continued their march to the division ‘C’ crown with a 75-run win at Wykeham II, Tom Gregory following his knock of 34 by demolishing the home line-up with 7-13 in their 85 all out.

Ravenscar maintained hopes of catching them on the final weekend by beating Heslerton II by six wickets. James Almond made 32 and Mark Dring 28 but Gerald Smith’s 4-17 saw Hezzo bowled out for 130. Joe Bayes made 77 not out and Shaun Bayes 25 not out in the reply.

Chris Beal (49) and Simon Pickering (5-34) saw their efforts go to waste as Ebberton II’s match with Seamer II was abandoned due to rain with Seamer on 111-7 chasing 151-9. Bottom team Cloughton II were dismissed for 57 by Tom Shrimpton (3-8) and Bill Estill (3-5) as Fylingdales II beat them by eight wickets.