Leaders Fulford ‘A’ suffered a second successive defeat in the York Conservative Clubs’ Carlsberg UK Snooker League as their ‘B’ team recovered from 2-1 behind to win 4-3.

Glen Mountain (30 break) and Andy Marshall (36 break) moved the ‘A’ team ahead after Arthur Pegden had opened for Fulford ‘B’.

John Adcock, Bob Smith, Andy Ogley and Nigel Smith wrapped up the win before James Lee (25 break) reduced the arrears.

Fulford ‘A’ remain top with 45 points, but the chasing pack have a game in hand.

Malton ‘A’ consolidated second place with a 4-3 victory over Heworth ‘A’.

James Kilmartin and Steve Burdett gave Heworth a start but Roger Ward, Phil Hart and Simon Weatherill (50 break) moved Malton ahead.

Nick Dyson beat Lee Taylor to level but Dominic Spiteri earned the victory for Malton.

Acomb ‘A’ were 4-3 winners over Bootham ‘A’.

Bootham’s Rob Barron was in control until a mistake on the green gave Roland Cox (25) a chance and he cleared to win by two points.

Richard Lillie made it 2-0, but Stuart Martel (24 break) and Colin Robinson (25 break) levelled.

Phil Carlton sneaked home and Paul Holmes (22 break) sealed Acomb’s win before Barry Rankin (25 break) cleared to defeat Mick Borg and make it 4-3.

Bootham ‘B’ are joint fourth with Heworth ‘A’ after beating second from bottom Acomb ‘B’ 5-2.

Jeff Winter and Nick Goodacre won the first two frames, but Bootham’s Paul Mahoney, Paul Schofield, Lionel Barnes, Paul Powell and Jamie Robinson all won.

Dyson and Weatherill won again to hold onto the lead in the Worthington player of the year competition each with nine wins in ten games.

A new name went on the Brian Jeffrey Memorial Over-50s Trophy as rank outsider John McCready, of Heworth, took the honours with a re-spotted black in the final.

Giving Acomb’s Trevor Ventress a one-point start, McCready held a 25-10 lead when they reached the colours.

Ventress, the winner in 2000, took the yellow but McCready claimed green and only needed brown to leave Ventress needing a snooker.

However, he went in-off the brown and, despite adding the blue, Ventress sunk the other colours to level the match at 33-33. McCready won the title with a long pot on the re-spotted black.

In the semi-finals, McCready beat Acomb’s Jeff Keen on the black, while Ventress beat Bootham’s Tim Fillingham in another black ball game.

The trophy and awards were presented by John Jeffrey on behalf of B Jeffrey Engineering.

Fulford’s Bob Smith earned the competition’s highest break award.