AMOTHERBY A’s rearranged match with Swinton did not quite go to plan on the penultimate week of the Ryedale Table Tennis League.

Paul Cuthbertson and Pat Swindell won two each to put a dent in any title hopes and just fall short of a draw.

Gary Tranter and Dave Quinlan replied with a brace each, alongside a single for Mark Antrobus before taking the doubles to win 6-4.

Amotherby A’s second match was an easier affair as they thrashed Ryedale B 9-1.

Trebles for Gary Tranter and Dave Quinlan adding to a Mark Antrobus single, as Andrew Malley saved the B’s blushes.

Ryedale D stayed top after their 9-1 win over the C team.

Gareth Bryning and Chris Gamble led the charge with a brace for Andy Paton as Ruth Purseglove and Jan Bryan failed to register, leaving Titch Temple to avoid the whitewash.

Swinton came down off the clouds as they were deservedly beaten by Ryedale A 8-2.

Stepen Temple and Barbara Kearney were on top form and unbeaten, with John Flintoft scoring a single.

Paul Cuthbertson and Pat Swindell replied with a single each, leaving Kenny Brown winless.

In Division Two, Ryedale J consolidated their position at the top, helped in no part by a 10-0 thrashing of Ryedale I.

Zdzislaw Strawczynski, Dave Gamble and Mike Perry undefeated against Andrew Dent, John Draper and Rob Williams in the rout.

The J’s then showed their credentials against Amotherby B taking the plaudits 7-3 as Zdzislaw won all three, with doubles for Gamble and Perry.

In reply, Daniel Zajaczkowski won two, teaming up with Richard Brown to win the doubles.

Ryedale G had a good win over Rillington A, taking the match 7-3 after a trio of wins for Roger Wilkinson, an Ian Hutchison brace and an Eric Bell single.

An off night for the Rills saw Phil Horton take two and Dan Stansfield a single in reply.

Better fortune saw Rillington B win 8-2 over Ryedale I as both Greg Welburn-Kelly and David Leckenby scored trebles with a brace for Chris Bown.

For the Rye’s, Rob Williams won one, taking the doubles with Pete Whitfield.

Ryedale E could only turn out two players but that was enough as Ed Wardman (3) and Alan Kirkwood (1), plus the doubles, scraped a draw against their ‘F’ team’s Mike Askham (2), Alan Kimber (2) and Ian Hutchison (1).

In Division Three, first played second, with leaders, Amotherby C came out top 7-3 to extend their lead over Bishop Wilton.

Daniel Zajaczkowski and Andrew Milanov were unbeaten as they overcame Kevin Prime, James Leonard and Tony Fuller who battled throughout and were rewarded by defeating Malcolm Sims.

Third-placed Amotherby E have had an excellent season and again showed their promise with a 7-3 victory over Ryedale H, thanks to trebles from Harvey Ralph and Linda Clarke with a single for Sam Smith.

For the Rye’s, Terry Stone and Stephen Cass won a game each before taking the doubles.

Watermark eased past Amotherby D by the same scoreline, with trebles for Simon Thompson and Andy Holmes plus an Andy Boyland single.

For the Villagers, Barbara Johnson drew a blank, leaving Alan Mitchell and Janet Bailey to win one game each plus the doubles.