TEN man Rosedale lifted the Marisa Trophy final after a thrilling 'sudden death' penalty shoot-out victory over Thornton-le-Dale.

The Marisa Trophy is the cup competition for teams that finish outside the top four in the newitts.com Beckett Football League.

Thornton-le-Dale took the lead after 16 minutes when Danny Greaves' flick was helped into his own goal by Rosedale's Brandon Wearmouth.

Rosedale were back on level terms just four minutes later when Thornton-le-Dale's Tim Hunt put the ball through his own net!

But Thornton-le-Dale took the lead for a second time after 26 minutes when Greaves scored from 20 yards out.

Rosedale were then reduced to ten men just before the interval when captain Tom Bell was sent off by referee Tom Lishman (Kirkbymoorside) for using foul and abusive language to an assistant referee.

Both Stuart Dowson and Alistair Wilkinson were also booked as Rosedale's frustration threatened to spill over in the second half.

Yet, despite the numerical disadvantage, Rosedale took the game to penalties after Sam Asquith equalised with a half volley in the 69th minute.

Goalkeeper Barry Wheldon emerged as Rosedale's hero in the shoot out - producing a hat-trick of saves to deny Harvey D’Alguen, Tom Atkinson, and, most crucially, Thornton-le-Dale player manager Danny Russell.

Thornton-le-Dale goalkeeper David Sturgess had saved Rosedale's opening two kicks from Wilkinson and Asquith but was then beaten five times in a row by Murray Wilson, Neil Adams, Jason Cruddas, James Dunn, and Mike Houlgate.

Danny Greaves, Ryan Boyes, Gary Davies, and David Elliott scored penalties for Thornton-le-Dale who lost 5-4 in the shoot-out.

Man of the match winners were Tim Hunt (Thornton-le-Dale) and Barry Wheldon (Rosedale). The game, which was held at Thornton-le-Dale, attracted a crowd of 215.

Kirkbymoorside beat Old Malton Blues to win the Under-16s Brian Overfield Memorial Trophy.

Toby Hicks opened the scoring for the Moorsiders in the third minute but Old Malton equalised eight minutes later through Lysander Jones.

Robbie Scarborough restored Kirkbymoorside's advantage almost immediately and there was little to choose between the two sides for the rest of the game.

Old Malton felt they were denied an equaliser with five minutes to go but the officials insisted that Lorcan Tobin's effort had not crossed the line.

Ben Teasdale rubbed salt into the wounds when making it 3-1 to Kirkbymoorside in stoppage time from a debatable free kick.

Any new teams interested in joining the newitts.com Beckett Football League or the Veterans Over 35 League next season should contact either Mike Sturgess 01751 476803 or Keith Sales 01751 473348 for more information.

The League’s Annual General meeting takes place on Tuesday June 20.

Ryedale Sports Club, who play in the first division, held their annual presentation evening last weekend.

Matty Bower was voted Players' Player of the Year while other awards were presented to Martin Foxton (leading goalscorer), Liam Dawson (Young Player of the Year) and Shaun Hornby (Clubman of the Year)

The club is appealing for volunteers to help at the club’s annual Gala Day and Rounders competition on Sunday July 29.