GILL Boler and Ian Conlan have been elected as councillors on Malton Town Council.

A by-election was held yesterday (Thursday) after two vacancies arose on the council.

Gill stood as a Malton resident and Nursing Sister, while Ian Conlan as a Green Party.

The other candidates were Luke Campbell, Conservative Party; Sophie Legard, Conservative Party and David Lloyd-Williams, Community Candidate.

The vacancies came about as a result of the resignation of Councillor Chris Turner and the death of Councillor Ed Jowitt.

The number of votes cast for each candidate at the election is as follows:

Gill Boler (E) 772

Luke Campbell 445

Ian Conlan (E) 572

Sophie Legard 436

David Lloyd Williams 282

In total 2,510 votes were cast.