THE newly-elected Ryedale District Council (RDC) is set to decide whether or not to appoint a leader, as a key figure suggests “a completely new approach”.

At Ryedale House in Old Malton tomorrow (Thursday), the council will meet for the first time and discuss how it should make decisions and also appoint members to the various committees, including planning, scrutiny and the most powerful policy and resources committee.

The Conservatives - the largest party despite not having a majority on the council - confirmed at the weekend they have appointed Cllr Keane Duncan as their group leader.

Cllr Duncan said: “I’m delighted to serve as the new leader of the Conservatives and excited for the future of Ryedale District Council.

“This is a new era for Ryedale and that calls for a completely new approach.

“I believe we can forge a way forward that ensures all views and opinions are respected and acted upon.

“It is vital at this point that all groups and all councillors can work together in the interests of Ryedale.”

RDC hasn’t had a leader for the past two years since the defection of then-leader Linda Cowling and five other Tories, which removed the party’s majority.

At the elections in early May, the Conservatives then failed to regain their majority, winning 12 of the 30 seats. The gains were largely made by independent candidates.

In addition to district council elections held on May 2, some of the town and parish councils in the region also held elections.

Helmsley Town Council is now comprised of Val Arnold, Jake Duncombe, Jonathan Fairburn, George Hawkins, Antony Porter, Ian Saggers and Carol Swift.

In Malton, the town councillors are Paul Andrews, Martin Brampton, Lindsay Burr, Martin Dales, Christopher Delaney, Paul Emberley, Kerry Ennis, Sue Hawes, Ed Jowitt, Graham Lake, Joan Lawrence and Christopher Turner.

One nominee, David Lloyd-Williams, missed out on a seat by a single vote.

In Norton, only the Norton East parish ward was up for election. The new councillors are Lindsay Burr, Antony Croser, Di Keal, David Lloyd-Williams, Hugh Spencer and Patricia Spencer. Cllr Burr’s win means she now sits on Malton, Norton, Ryedale and North Yorkshire councils.

There was sad news in the Sherriff Hutton Parish Council election: the poll had to be abandoned following the death of one of the candidates, Alan Glover. Ryedale District Council said that the election will be re-run, and new election notices were issued last week, with a deadline of tomorrow (Thursday) for new nominations.

If the election is contested, a poll will take place on Thursday, June 13.

For a full list of other parish council results, go to