CANDIDATES standing in the district council elections have been confirmed.

The elections, which will be held on May 2, are a chance to vote on the make up of Ryedale District Council, which is in charge of services including recycling and waste, leisure services, planning applications, housing support, environmental health and benefits.

They are as follows:

AMOTHERBY: (One to be elected)
Fiona Farnell – Conservative; Steve Mason – Liberal Democrats.

AMPLEFORTH: (One to be elected)
Jim Bailey – Conservative; Chris Pickles – Liberal Democrats.

CROPTON: (One to be elected)
John Clark – Liberal Party; Richard Dent - Independent; Truda Lansdowne – Conservative.

DALES DISTRICT: (One to be elected)
Janet Frank – Independent; Fabia Tate – Conservative.

DERWENT DISTRICT: (Two to be elected)
Michael Cleary – Conservative; Angela Cole - Labour; Naomi Cox - Liberal Democrats; Sue Graham - Conservative.

HELMSLEY: (Two to be elected)
Steve Arnold – Independent; Barbara Hickman - Green; Donald Wallace - Conservative; Joanna Welford - Conservative; Snowy Windress - Independent.

HOVINGHAM: (One to be elected)
Claire Docwra - Conservative; Barry Doyle - Liberal Democrats; Abbie Knowlson; Helen Yellen - Labour.

KIRKBYMOORSIDE: (Two to be elected)
Paul Ashley - Conservative; Martin Brampton - Green; Derek Chapman - Liberal Democrats; David Cussons - Independent; Bob Gardiner - Conservative; Tony Riby - Independent; David Yellen - Labour.

MALTON: (Three to be elected)
Paul Andrews – Independent; Jack Ashton – Labour; Lindsay Burr – Independent; Luke Campbell - Conservative; Sammie Delaney - Conservative; Angela Kirkham-Raine - Independent; Rory Queen - Conservative; Stephen Shaw - Independent.

NORTON EAST: (Two to be elected)
Keane Duncan - Conservative; Raymond King - Conservative; Elizabeth Shields - Liberal Democrat; Rosalie Wilkinson - Labour; Nick Witteveen - Liberal Democrat.

NORTON WEST: (Two to be elected)
Di Keal – Liberal Democrat; Howard Keal – Liberal Democrat; John Mackenzie – Conservative; Tom Pinder – Conservative.

PICKERING EAST: (Two to be elected)
Joy Andrews – The Liberal Party; Charles Hopkinson – Independent; Paul Littlewood – Conservative; Douglas Sutherland - Labour; Clive Wass - The Liberal Party; Greg White - Conservative; Peter Winter - Liberal Democrat.

PICKERING WEST: (Two to be elected)
Carrie Brackstone - The Liberal Party; Linda Cowling - Independent; Philip Hall - Conservative; Matthew Haynes - Conservative; Mike Potter - The Liberal Party.

Nathan Garbutt Moore - Conservative.

Caroline Goodrick – Conservative.

SHERBURN: (One to be elected)
Paul Emberley - Conservative; John Raper – Independent.

SHERIFF HUTTON: (One to be elected)
Jeremy Bleasdale - Conservative; Eric Hope – Independent.

SINNINGTON: (One to be elected)
Angela Egan - Conservative; Simon Thackray - Independent.

THORNTON DALE: (Two to be elected)
Sandra Bell – Green Party; Christopher Delaney - Conservative; Mick Johnston – Labour; Will Oxley - Conservative.

WOLDS: Tracie Middleton – Conservative

Ryedale already has its first three district councillors after they were automatically elected to uncontested seats.

Nathan Garbutt Moore won the Rillington ward, Caroline Goodrick won the Ryedale South West ward, and Tracie Middleton won the Wolds ward. The three councillors all represent the Conservative party.