POCKLINGTON RUFC stage Yorkshire’s oldest rugby seven-a-side tournament when the 54th Guinness Pock 7s get under way at Percy Road next Friday, April 6.

The event has been held at Pocklington every Good Friday since 1959 and has grown from humble beginnings into one of Yorkshire’s major rugby occasions, with many exiles making their way back home for an annual Easter reunion – several travelling back from abroad for the weekend.

This year’s tournament again has a full entry of 24 sides, with a mixture of local clubs and teams from further afield battling it out in the main competition and plate.

There are eight former winners taking part with last year’s winners of the Fowler Trophy, Rogue Traders, based on a group of Sedbergh old boys who love sevens rugby, defending their title.

Host club Pocklington, who won the main tournament in 1996 and 1998, are the holders of the plate.

The draw was made by England seven-a-side international Rob Vickerman, who called into the Pocklington clubhouse on his way to fly out with England to the Hong Kong world series sevens.

Vickerman played in the Pock 7s early in his career before going on to play in the Premiership with Leeds and Newcastle. He became a full-time sevens player for England this season.

The Good Friday action gets under way with a special women’s challenge at noon, with the first game of the main tournament between Bishop Burton College and another old boys’ side, Edinburgh TMC, following at 1pm. The final is scheduled for 6.40pm.

Pock 7s draw

First round

A: Bishop Burton College v Edinburgh TMC (1pm)
B: Selby v Scunthorpe (1.20pm)
C: Yorkshire PDS v Driffield (1.40pm)
D: Hymerians v Goole (2pm)
E: West Leeds v Catterick (2.20pm)
F: Peterites v Scunthorpe FH (2.40pm)
G: York v Old Pocklingtonians (3pm)
H: Brookfield v Ionians (3.20pm).

Second round

Hull Ionians v winner A (1.40pm)
Kingston Crusaders v winner B (2pm)
Malton & Norton v winner C (2.20pm)
Pocklington v winner D (2.40pm)
Sedbergh Rogue Traders v winner E (3pm)
Bishop Burton Academy v winner F (3.20pm)
Otley PH v winner G (3.40pm)
Old Hymerians v winner H (4pm).