ACOMB maintained their Hunters York & District Cricket League division one promotion bid when they crushed bottom-placed Selby by nine wickets.

There were two half-centuries in Selby’s 176 with Matt Hoyle making 52 and Tom Collins 79.

But a 4-49 spell by Mark Bell made sure the other batsmen failed to prosper.

Andy Tute led Acomb’s reply of 178-1 with an unbeaten 84, while Freddie Littlewood made 49 on his second appearance in the team. Matt Dale chipped in with 33 as Acomb seized second place.

Leaders Heworth recorded their 12th win when they beat Goole Town by four wickets and are now virtually certain to win the title and regain premier status.

For Goole, Ben Earl made 47 and Neil Foster 39, while Will Peet took 4-41 in a total of 164-6.

Heworth were guided to victory by Ian Lynch, who made 77, and Richard Walton, with an unbeaten 50. Both knocks were the highest of the season for each player.

Bolton Percy’s four-wicket triumph at the expense of Driffield Town aided their push to avoid relegation.

Of Driffield’s 118, Will Norman made 32 and Owen Goldsworthy a handy 52 but the balance of the game was in Bolton’s favour thanks to the efforts of Phil Malloch, who had 4-12, Tom Atkinson 3-36 and Andrew Brewster 3-8.

Jamie Hopper made inroads into Bolton’s reply, claiming 4-45, but J White made 42 and Danny White 36no in a total of 119-6.

Lowly Malton & Old Malton also recorded a good win when they beat Bridlington by three wickets to keep alive hopes of missing the drop as well as effectively ending their rivals’ hopes of promotion.

Bridlington were grateful to the two Leesons who both made runs in a below par total of 121. Simon Leeson totalled 34 and Andrew 28. For Malton, Wayne Dawson and Chris Hudson both had returns of 3-21.

Dawson followed up with 43 and Shaun Harland added 31. And while Sam Edmondson captured 4-25, Malton went on to win at 122-7.

Pickering’s chances of catching the top two were blunted when their game at Whitkirk was called off after the hosts had made a first innings total of 123-6.

A Webb batted well to make 76, while Dave Greenlay collected 3-29.

Sessay’s promotion aspirations took a knock when a four-wicket loss to Folkton & Flixton dropped them from second to third place.

Liam Carver top-scored for Sessay with 42, while D Easton added 29 as Chris Mann claimed 4-31.

Chasing 187, Flixton’s batsmen produced the goods despite Carver’s 3-37. Runs were hit by Neil Elvidge (33), Richard Malthouse (38), Rob Lacey (33), Matt Nessfield (47no) and Stuart Stocks (30no).