SHERIFF Hutton Bridge clinched the Pilmoor Evening League division one championship when they won a thrilling 18-overs-a-side play-off with Thirsk at Sessay.

Bridge batted first and were given a flying start by Adam Fisher (19) and Paul Oldfield (21) and looked set for a big total with the score going past 50 in the first seven overs.

Thirsk then came back strongly through James Wilkinson and Stuart Christon (3-25) and Bridge slumped to 56-4 before Nick Scaling’s 24 helped them to 107-8.

Thirsk lost an early wicket in reply but then appeared to be taking control with Tom Jackson (25) and Keiron Fenwick (32) scoring freely and reaching 62 by the ninth over.

Fenwick was caught for 32 and soon afterwards Jackson was run out and the seesaw contest tilted Bridge’s way as Mark Fisher, wayward early on, returned to claim 2-21.

Ben Harrison (3-18) and Jonny Eleanor (3-12) also played important roles to restrict Thirsk to 97-9.

Pilmoor Evening League honours Div 1 champions: Sheriff Hutton Bridge; runners-up: Thirsk; relegated: Clifton Aliance. Div 2 champions: Acomb. Senior batting: Geoff Schofield (Sheriff Hutton); bowling: Eddie Hull (Sheriff Hutton). Junior batting: Aiden Burton (Acomb); bowling: Mark Jackson (Sessay).

Meanwhile, Stamford Bridge were denied a final-game victory over division one runners-up Heworth in the Foss Evening League.

Olly Sherwood (31) and Rich Walton (29) led Heworth to 119-7.

Steve Baxter’s 3-16 had a large say in Bridge being reduced to 45-7, but Callum Burge then struck an unbeaten 52 to give Bridge a chance up until the last ball when they needed five.

North Dalton finished their division two promotion-winning season with a nine-wicket win at Thixendale. The Walgate brothers, Si (28) and Tom (26), along with Mark Clarkson (27) led the champions to 108 all out. Mike Anderson then returned some of the best figures of the summer with 6-27 to restrict Thix to 99-8.