MALTON & Old Malton, having looked sure to go down until a late season resurgence, escaped the drop on the last night of the Ryedale Beckett League season thanks to Duncombe Park’s defeat to Settrington.

Malton had already completed their fixtures and needed Park to lose.

Settrington won the toss and elected to bat, and it proved a great decision as Tom Harrison hit 55 not out and former Malton player Stephen Beal 37 to take them to 130-1 in their 14 overs.

Alex Medd, the costliest bowler, top-scored in Duncombe’s reply with 27, but Beal took 3-14 as they were restricted to 95-6.

Kirkbymoorside, who had already sealed the title, capped their season with a 10-wicket win over Hovingham – Jacques Budricks (49no) and M Bumby (28no) hitting their way to a victory target of 88 in 10.2 overs.

Joe Sails took 4-8 to set up a narrow victory for Harome over Pickering, which was secured by their lower order.

Matthew Butler (31) top-scored as Pickering totalled 118 all out in 14.5 overs.

Openers Mark Mierzwinski (30) and Mark Haines (17) gave Harome a solid start in reply but the middle order collapsed as Mark Shepherd took 3-13 before Tim Sharples (23no), J Cranage (22) and Chris Nichols (10no) – numbers eight, nine and 10 in the batting line-up - saw them home by two wickets.

Division two winners Burythorpe proved far too strong for a youthful Ryedale side, who gave their all in a losing cause.

Batting first, Burythorpe built a big score, anchored by Martyn Woodliffe's unbeaten 70.

Burythorpe let nine players have a bowl, taking wickets regularly, Matt Beckett adding two to his season's tally for 12 runs. Will Taylor top scored with a hard-fought 22 in Ryedale's 78-8.

Second-placed Great Habton were given the points by Nawton Grange, who conceded.

Ampleforth finished third after openers Lyle Hillier (28no) and Mark Wilkie (25) took them to a six-wicket victory over a weakened Whitwell-on-the-Hill.

Whitwell had been all out for 99 in 11 overs, Ted Harrison (34) top-scoring as Wilkie took 3-11.