A RAPID eight-wicket victory over Folkton & Flixton gave Pickering temporary ownership of top spot in division one.

The victory sealed thanks to unbeaten half-centuries by Chris Nicholls (58no) and Colin Frank (55no). Earlier, Scott Cooper had made 7, but Isaac Christopher’s 3-26 had helped to dismiss Flixton for 138.

A good spell of bowling by Andrew Wilson brought him figures of 5-36 when Driffield batted first against bottom placed Selby.

Will Norman hit 60 and Oliver Goldsworthy made 43, but Joe Romaniw backed Wilson with 3-28 as Driffield were all out for 167.

Selby’s reply was a four-man affair, which eventually took them to their second win of the season.

Tom Collins led the way with 45, while Matt Hoyle added 37. The seven-wicket win was then fashioned by Elliott Precious's 31 not out Matt Clark who was unbeaten with 30.

Goole Town widened the gap between themselves and the bottom three when they defeated tenth-placed Bolton Percy by five wickets. This was rough justice on Bolton’s Jacob Green, whose unbeaten 102 earned scant reward. He was supported by Tom Atkinson who made 35 in a total of 194-6 as Mark Spetch captured 3-50. Goole’s successful answer was mastered by D Ounsley who made 76.

Heworth were held to a draw at Bridlington but still top the division after picking up 26 points.

Dan Walton hit 78 as Heworth totalled 193-9, with Simon Leeson taking 4-51. When Bridlington replied only Casey Rudd, with 36, made any real mark with the bat as Richard Walton took 4-18 as Brid were forced to settle for a draw at 130-8.

Fourth-placed Acomb improved their chances of promotion when they had the better of a draw at third-placed Sessay.

Joe Dale was their leading batsman in making 73 while Leon Sacks added 66 and Andy Tute 27 in a total of 213-7, as Matt Till claimed 3-51.

Till followed with 51 and Jacob Spencer made 36 not out but, despite their contributions, Sessay were only able to reach 157-8.

Malton & Old Malton lifted themselves out of the bottom two when they defeated Whitkirk by six wickets at home.

Batting first, Whitkirk totalled 164-9 as W Spencer took 4-23 and Wayne Dawson had 3-29. In reply, Stephen Linsley made 45, Morgan Fraser 41 and Shaun Harland 38 in a winning score of 165-4.