KIRKBYMOORSIDE 2nds went clear at the top of Derwent Valley League division ‘B’ after their bowlers brought them victory over Flixton 3rds.

The Moorsiders’ pitch was the only one in the entire league to be passed fit for play on Saturday following the recent heavy rain in the region.

And the home side took advantage in a low-scoring contest to make it three wins from three Derwent Valley League outings this term.

Kirkbymoorside were bowled out for 89, Liam Lowery the chief destroyer with 5-48.

But Lowery’s efforts proved in vain as his side likewise struggled with the bat in the damp conditions.

Jamie Harper and Adam Magson claimed 3-28 and 4-25 in return as Flixton, still without a win this term, were dismissed with only 73 on the board, to lose by 16 runs.

The Moorsiders duly collected 15 points and Flixton five. All other matches were drawn without a ball being bowled, so all other teams picked up five points.

Kirkby now lead Sherburn 2nds by six points, with Nawton Grange 2nds already 19 points further back.

Meanwhile, Chris Crawford, of Sherburn 2nds, is poised to collect the Derwent Valley League merit award for May bowling thanks to his wonderful return against Flixton 3rds.

The awards, sponsored by Dale Power Solutions, go to the batsman with the best score and bowler with the best return each month.

Crawford heads the list with his match-winning 8-23 in Sherburn 2nds’ division ‘B’ match on May 17.

Four other bowlers took five-fors, with Duncan Edwards’s the most notable - 5-2 for Flamborough against Sewerby 3rds in division ‘A’ on the same day.

Aaron Howard, of Filey 2nds, was a clear winner in the batting stakes thanks to his 133 not out against Flixton 3rds in division ‘B’ on May 18.

Kirkbymoorside’s Graham Jemison was next, with 66 against Nawton Grange 2nds in division ‘B’ on May 3.

Merit Batting Awards leaders: 133* Aaron Howard, Filey 2nds (v Flixton 3rds, division ‘B’, May 18); 66 Graham Jemison, Kirkbymoorside 2nds (v Nawton Grange 2nds, division ‘B’, May 3); 64 Craig Best, Valley Bar Nomads (v Forge Valley 4ths, division ‘C’, May 17); 57* Neil Ward, Nawton Grange 2nds (v Filey 2nds, division ‘B’, May 17); 55* Robin Richardson, Great Habton (v Muston, division ‘A’, May 17).

Merit Bowling Awards leaders: 8-23 Chris Crawford, Sherburn 2nds (v Flixton 3rds, division ‘B’, May 17); 5-2 Duncan England, Flamborough (v Sewerby 3rds, division ‘A’, May 17); 5-8 Josh McNeil, Cayton 3rds (v Wykeham 3rds, division ‘C’, May 17); 5-10 Liam Allanby, Great Habton (v Lockton, division ‘A’, May 03); 5-14 Connor Stephenson, Flixton 3rds (v Sherburn 2nds, division ‘B’, May 17).