MALTON Squash Club’s top team will be a satisfied bunch this summer after ending their Yorkshire League season in third place in division one.

The team won 11 matches and lost nine - a very creditable performance following promotion last year.

Mike Catling played in all 20 matches, winning 13 and losing seven. Andy Phillips played nine matches as the team’s ‘super sub’, winning three of them.

In the York & District League, Malton I ended fifth in division one, winning 10 matches and losing eight. There were strong performances throughout the season from Joe Woodhead, Mike Catling, Jonathan Everitt, Phillips and Rob Taylor.

Malton II finished sixth in division three - a good result following promotion last year.

Jimmy Mason played in all 20 matches, winning 13, while Joel Preston won eight and lost just once. All team members, including Oli Rising, Steve Towse, Andy Rising and Phil Wilford, contributed valuable points.

In division four, Malton III enjoyed a much-improved season where they finished fifth after 12 wins and 10 losses.

Dan Gilbank impressed with nine wins and no defeats, while the whole squad – Duncan Chapman, Neil Burnett, Ian Kneeshaw, Andy Criddle, John Preston, Ruth Kneeshaw and Peter Warwick – chipped in along the way.

Malton IV had an excellent year, staying in contention for promotion throughout before finally having to settle for third place.

The team won 15 matches, including a 4-1 success against champions Wigginton V in the last match of term. It was only Wiggy’s second defeat.

Jon Pitkin impressed all year winning 16 and losing just three. Kevin Goddard (won 12, lost 6) and Steve King (won 10, lost 3) also contributed well, with Mark Baker, Mike Hammond, James Criddle and Adam Duffill also securing valuable points.

Malton Ladies I struggled in division one, ending one place off the bottom.

Sue Preston (won 5, lost 5) and Fiona Brown (won 4, lost 5) impressed most.

However, Malton Ladies II had a great year, clinching second place in division II, with 10 wins and two defeats.

Lynn Watson (won 9, lost 3), Helen Craggs (7, 2) and Linda Craggs (7, 1) all scored heavily, while Emma Clarke, Kat Smith, the unbeaten Nicky Fox and Becca Polley also contributed to the cause.

The finals of the club’s Open Championships saw Jamie Hopwood take the Men’s Open title, with Simon Middleton the runner-up.

The Ladies’ Open winner was Sue Preston, with Denise Bigg runner-up.

The respective Plates were won by Jonty Rounthwaite and Linda Craggs.

During these championships, the club ran their first racketball competition, which was won by Dave England, with Steve Phillips runner-up.

The racketball plate winner was Gordon Malan, with Gill Pycock runner-up.

Club nights continue through the summer on Saturday from 5pm to 7pm where newcomers can try squash or racketball for free. New members are welcome. For details, phone the club on 01653 693139.