Champions out in Victory Cup surprise

Paul Holder, who got Union Rovers' semi-final winner

Paul Holder, who got Union Rovers' semi-final winner

First published in Sport

THE Victory Cup final in the Beckett League will be contested between division one runners-up Sinnington and fourth-placed Union Rovers after both underdogs won dramatic semi-finals on Saturday.

Sinnington, the 2013 champions, visited Kirkbymoorside reserves, who have taken their league crown, and they fully deserved their 2-0 victory.

The opening goal arrived midway through the first half as youngster Luke Clemmit scored for a fifth successive game.

The Sinners continued to play well but the vital second goal didn’t arrive until late in the game, when Toby Edwards put the seal on victory.

Player-manager Lee Mitchell was Sinnington's man of the match, while centre-half David Gardner and player-boss Andrew Ferguson stood out for Kirkby.

Union Rovers entertained Thornton-le-Dale in a rehearsal for the first Beckett League final this term - the Ryedale Hospital Cup final, to be played at Kirkbymoorside on Saturday, kick off 6pm.

Both sides had players missing, and an even, closely-contested game was decided by a slice of good fortune on 70 minutes, Paul Holder's 20-yard left-foot shot finding the net.

Union centre-back Dwaine Young and Thornton's Tim Hunt were the men of the match.

The dates of all the Beckett League’s cup finals have now been confirmed.

This Saturday's Ryedale Hospital Cup final between Thornton-le-Dale and Union at Kirkbymoorside (6pm), will be followed by the Victory Cup final between between Union Rovers and Sinnington, on Saturday, April 26, at 6.15pm, when the first division championship and runners-up trophies will also be presented.

The remaining three finals are all at Thornton-le-Dale with 6.30pm kick-offs.

They are the Gordon Harrison Memorial Trophy final between Union Rovers and Kirkbymoorside reserves on Friday, May 2; the Marisa Trophy final on Wednesday, May 7; and the Panasonic League Division Two Cup final on Friday, May 9.

Send us your news, pictures and videos

Most read stories

Local Info

Enter your postcode, town or place name

About cookies

We want you to enjoy your visit to our website. That's why we use cookies to enhance your experience. By staying on our website you agree to our use of cookies. Find out more about the cookies we use.

I agree