MALTON ‘A’ took a major step towards regaining the York Conservative Clubs’ Carlsberg UK Snooker League championship with a 5-2 victory over Acomb ‘A’.

Richard Lillie and Roland Cox moved Acomb ahead after Lee Taylor won the first game for Malton.

Roger Ward (black ball), Steve Beal, Dominic Spiteri and Phil Hart completed the turnaround for the leaders, who last won the title two years ago.

Fulford ‘A’ received a blow to their hopes when they lost 4-3 to Bootham ‘B’, who went 3-1 ahead through Jamie Robinson (25 break), Ian Robinson and Paul Scorfield (30 break), against a reply by Glen Mountain. James Lee (33 break) and Sam Wass levelled, but Lionel Barnes secured Bootham’s victory, which left Malton six points clear and needing only one point from their final match against Fulford ‘A’ to take the title.

Bootham’s Paul Scorfield, who has completed his fixtures, and Malton’s Simon Weatherill are joint leaders of the Worthington player of the year competition with 12 wins in 15 games.

Malton’s Taylor continues to lead in the Pasema Paving highest break contest with his 85 clearance, but Heworth’s Neil Wood moved into second place with his 66 break.

l Heworth ‘A’ and Acomb ‘A’ won their team cup semi-finals and will meet in the final at Fulford on Wednesday, April 23, following the annual presentations, which start at 7.30pm.