ONLY two games survived yet another wet Saturday in the Hunters York & District Senior Cricket League.

All the other games were abandoned without a ball being bowled as the 2014 campaign begins to echo the disastrous record wet season of 2012.

The two completed games took place at Driffield, which seems to have been a sunny oasis within an ocean as the widespread rain hit the whole of the league’s geographical area.

In division one, Driffield took first innings against Goole Town and made 152-9.

Owen Goldsworthy top-scored with 34, while John Robinson hit 31.

However, it was Mark Spetch who took the first half honours with a bowling return of 5-61 and James Kerr gave solid support with his 3-45.

After the tea break, Ben Earl made 32, Neil Foster the game’s top score of 44 and Spetch 36, but Alec Drury’s four wickets for a mere seven runs put Goole on the back foot before they scraped to a draw at 135-9.

At Malton, Heworth had reached 24-1 in the brief spell of play that was possible before the heavens opened.

Driffield III fared better than their senior side on a good day for the club as they defeated Welton & Brough by five wickets.

Andy Copley made 33 for Welton but his side were dismissed for just 106 as a trio of Driffield bowlers took control.

The leading wicket-taker of the three was Grant Hutton, who claimed 4-43, but three wickets apiece by Sam Morris (3-18) and Andy Rogers (3-17) were both competitive and economical.

When Driffield replied, Jake Oakes posed problems as he grabbed 3-18, but an unbeaten 34 by Kev Walker ensured a home victory.

The Hunters York & District Senior League President’s XI will play an annual game against the Royal Air Force at Sheriff Hutton Bridge tomorrow, starting at 11am.

The League side is: captain Mark Fisher (Sheriff Hutton Bridge), Jack Bolam (Dunnington), Tom Collins (Selby), Joe Dale (Acomb), Ben Fish (Beverley Town), Robert Fish (Beverley Town), Jordan Grose (Sheriff Hutton Bridge), Adam Iyer (Dunnington), Peter Kent (Duncombe Park), Simon Naylor (Sheriff Hutton Bridge), Jonny Rawsthorne (Selby). Scorer Aldred Bostwick, umpire Eric Wade.

* The funeral of league life member and former president George Myerscough will take place at Welburn Church tomorrow at noon.