YORKSHIRE goes to the polls today alongside the rest of the European Union in electing representatives for the European Parliament.

Yorkshire and Humber will elect six MEPs to cover the whole region. Ten parties are standing in the region - An Independence from Europe, the British National Party, the Conservatives, the English Democrats, the Green Party, the Labour Party, the Liberal Democrats, NO2EU, UKIP and Yorkshire First.

Polls open from 7am to 10pm, and the results will be announced at the election count in LeedsTown Hall from 10pm on Sunday once the polls across Europe have closed.